March 26, 2010

  • Reacher vs Settler

    Watched a recent episode of "How I Met Your Mother" and they were exploring the concept of "Reacher" vs "Settler".

    The basic premise of it is that in every relationship, there is some kind of imbalance.

    Reacher: A person who gets together with someone that surpasses their standards.
    Settler: A person who settled for someone.

    I've always consider my relationship to be fairly even. Sure, I settled on some counts, but I definitely reached on others. So what do you do when you get to a tipping point in a relationship?

    I'm not the easiest person on the planet to live with. I know I have my faults. I can be the worst person with the people I love most dearly. I'm as bitchy as they come and I know that only the people who truly love me can put up with me. Which makes it even more frustrating for me that I reached a tipping point today.

    I dislike feeling this way. I hate how everything feels now. It feels like the familiarity in my life is gone and its replaced with a huge hole of uncertainty.

    Just when we had things going. Just when we were looking to the future.

    Now I am looking back.

    What now?

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *