January 21, 2010

  • The Birthday UnWishlist

    So everyone's been asking where is my wishlist for this year. I finally decided to sit down and work on it for real, seeing as how my party is set for this Saturday.

    The Big 3-0 Wish List:
    1. Good Health - Number one thing on my wishlist. Can someone find a cure for iron deficiency anemia that doesn't involve cutting me up?

    2. Time with my friends - As with last year, this is something I resolve to do even more this year. I was getting good at it, but kinda backslided as my health got the better of me. Must do it better this year!

    3. Introduce a friend to Sayoni - One of the best gifts that anyone can give. Sayoni will only get bigger and better!

    So I really tried very hard to write a wishlist this year, but I think I have everything I want that money can buy. Other than that black with red leather interior BMW Z4 and a nice holiday home in the Bahamas.

    And then... Alina gave me a great idea. Here is a list of things NOT to buy me:

    1. Anything that is pointless/useless/has no meaning - I absolutely hate getting gifts that are just going to gather dust and sit in my already cramped 3 room HDB apartment.

    2. Soft toys - They are cute and cuddly and all that. But for anyone who has been to my home, you'll know I have waaaaay too many of these little creatures and while they are cute and cuddly and all that... they are simply sitting on the shelves gathering dust.

    3. Chocolate - I know I'm known to love chocolates, but its really ruining my diet plan! Plus I always end up chucking it in the fridge and forgetting about it until its way past its expiry date.

    4. Bath soups/Body lotion/Other random toiletries from Bodyshop, Marks & Spencers or other sweet smelling store - I'm incredibly fussy about the stuff I use on my body, so there's a good chance that anything in this catogory I receive, I end up giving it away to someone else (who is hopefully less fussy than I am).

    5. Anything Piglet related - Yes, I'm a huge fan of that little pig from Winnie the Pooh. But in case you haven't noticed... I'm THIRTY this year! I don't need anymore Piglet mugs, cushions, toilet paper holders or vanity stands. I've OUTGROWN it!

    6. Anything that is GREEN - As in the colour Green. In case you don't know, its the colour I detest most in this world and I wouldn't be caught dead wearing it or using anything in that colour unless I have no choice. Sorry Mom!

    7. Accessories - I have ALOT of accessories. Necklaces, bracelets, earrings, watches. And over the years, I've come to realise that I use less than half of what I own. The main problem is I have fairly sensitive skin that's intolerant to anything that's not made of real silver or gold. Add my fussy sense of style to it and you should be able to see why it's no surprise that most accessories I receive as gifts end up sitting in my drawers and being used only once a year when I'm meeting up with person who bought said gift.

    8. Notebook/Diary/Journal/Yearly Planner - I'm a techie kind of girl. I have a blog and I do my planning/scheduling on my Google calendar that's synced with my Nokia E71. Any book with blank pages is just going to end up in a corner ...(wait for it)... gathering dust.

    9. Aromatherapy oils/Scented candles/scented joss sticks - I like the candlelight romance once in a while, but with Irene's sinus problems, its just not very practical. Currently I have a box of unused tea-lights, 2 boxes of scented joss sticks and 4 bottles of unopened therapy oil. You get the idea.

    10. Clothes - Unless you are absolutely SURE that I will like it, don't buy it.

    In all honesty, I'm just happy to have everyone come to my party. So seriously, don't worry about buying pressies and what not. I'ld rather you save your money than to spend it on something that's going to be gathering dust. Just come, have a good time, down a couple of drinks with me and I'm happy.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *