October 19, 2010

  • 3 Years Ago Today

    3 years ago today, I was at the lowest point of my life.

    Ironically, 3 years ago today, my Godson Jayden was born. I thank God I survived the darkest times in my life to bounce back and celebrate 3 birthdays with him. I want to be able to celebrate many more with him.

    In retrospect, I have no regrets for what happened 3 years ago today. When you hit rock bottom, you can only go up. Things have definitely changed for the better. Did I ever imagine that life would rebound like that? Honestly no.

    I am grateful for everyone who rallied around me in those dark times. In no order of importance:

    - Irene, Shawn and the entire family, whose generosity enabled me to pick myself up. Being able to get up every morning and go to their house was truly a blessing in those first few weeks.

    - Ben, who kept me company, back in the home I had abandoned and had to return to.

    - Sharon, who introduced me to a wealth of supportive resources and dragged me to my first OC event and Sayoni dinner.

    - Irene, my love, my companion, my support, who kept me company online and off during the first dark weeks and who has proven to be more wonderful than possible in these past 3 years.

    - OCW3, whose support I looked forward to every week.

    - V, my therapist who did not judge and instead helped me through my issues.

    - My Sis Em and the darling little Godson Jayden, who reminded me that life is so much worth living for.

    - Sayoni, the force that showed me that there is a social life after a failed relationship and that the community is definitely worth contributing to.

    - My friends, William, Michelle, Daniel who sent me their love, comfort and support at separate times.

    - My ex-boss Elvin, for doing the right thing, at the right time.

    - My family who asked no questions and allowed me to find my own way.

    - My BFF Denny, for believing in me, even when I had given up and almost lost everything.

    In these 3 years, I've grown a lot and achieved some pretty amazing things. If you told me 3 years ago that this was where I would be, I would never have believed it.

    Before:
    - Lost my job
    - Living in my mom's flat which was incidentally a total wreck
    - Just got out of a horrific failed relationship
    - No idea what the future holds whatsover
    - Depressed
    - Was smoking and drinking my life away

    Now:
    - Co-own my very own HDB 3-room flat with my mom
    - Cleaned up and redid the flat into liveable conditions with some definite home-improvement
    - Live together with my girlfriend in said flat
    - Have shares in/co-own 4 companies
    - Quit smoking!
    - Only do very limited social drinking.
    - Volunteer in 2 organisations that helped me get here - Sayoni & OC
    - No longer depressed and am really looking forward to what life brings.

    The future:
    - Do major renovation for flat including full overhaul
    - Have kids within the next 2 years
    - Seriously build my empire, I'm slowly but surely getting there
    - Continue being healthier and happier

    Thank you. Everyone.

    Now to another 30 years of goodness!

Comments (1)

  • I'm so glad we are where we are now. and I cannot agree more that when you're already at your lowest, there's no way but up! So here we are, 30 and fabulous :) And ;co-own' a very annoying but adorable god-son. hahahaha

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *