Month: June 2010

  • Late Night Musings

    In the past year I've abandoned quite a few half written blog posts. Somehow, I set out writing them, but never get to finish. One was about Sayoni Summer Camp '09 and the AWARE saga that was happening at the same time. Another was about the fibroid removal open surgery I had 2 months ago. Tonight, I must finish this one.

    After the crazy sleepless week I've had... I'm winding down on Saturday night and can't help but feel a sense of deja vu. I'm reminded of back when I used to work in Procon. Week nights spent madly rushing whatever project it was, weekends spent at home, still worrying about the never ending work that is to be done. I remember that one time, where I worked 100 days in a row, no weekends, no nights, just pure work. The weeks where I averaged 3-4 hours of sleep every night. The files on my table, the emails in my inbox, the never ending sound of my phone ringing. All of which ended 2.5 years ago.

    Now as I ease myself into this lifestyle again, I'm careful to remind myself about the pitfalls of working too hard. Of being in that awful place where life revolved around a job that took up too much time and paid way too little. I devoted myself to a company that I like to believe I helped succeed, having being there when there was all of 2 full time staff. In those days, we had to do everything from writing proposals, planning events and doing set up. I remember carrying pull up banners, brochures, stationery and ALU poles to events, setting up alone and going back at the end of day to bring it all back to the office.

    And now it seems like I'm going right back where I started.

    The next 3 weeks is going to be challenging. I hope this time it's easier. At least the rewards at the end look to be better. It's time to finish what I started!